(I’m Going To) Miss Alice

I have the world’s most stubborn dog on the planet. Yesterday afternoon I took her for her usual walk around the neighborhood. Suddenly, out of the corner of her eye, she spotted her dream come true. A hot pink squeaky ball. She had to have it. I tried to pull her away so first she lay down on the sidewalk.

photo-41

I called and coaxed and pulled and persuaded..but I only made the situation worse.

photo-42

Surely she would give up in about ten more seconds right? She doesn’t even care about toys generally! I’ll just use my firm voice and make it clear we are leaving right this instant.

photo-43

Victory at last.

photo-40

She carried the ball all the way around the rest of our walk and brought it home with her. Sorry to the poor dog who’s ball we stole, but it was either that or spend the night on the sidewalk. Alice does, however, have her tender moments.

photo-38

photo-37

We had a big heart to heart this morning about how she really doesn’t think I should leave. I agree.

photo-39

This break has flown by way too fast and I’m not ready to say bye to her or my mom and dive back into my crazy life, but I guess I have no choice! I’ll get in the groove again. Isn’t it crazy how time flies.

Did you have a good spring break? What all did you do? If you haven’t had it yet, what activities are you looking forward to? 

3 thoughts on “(I’m Going To) Miss Alice

Leave a comment