Decadent French Toast Topper

Yesterday was one of the best days I’ve had in a while! I got some work done in the morning and then my friend Gavin picked me up for lunch at 12:30. We headed to El Cazador since I’ve been craving Mexican food like crazy, and it was delicious!

ElCazador-BOM2012That guy wasn’t there though. Sad day. I had a bean enchilada on a corn tortilla with some rice, yum 😀 After lunch we walked around downtown for a while before stopping at the Big Dipper for ice cream.

BigDipper2copyrightmargaretdewilliamhorton-300x200This place has some of the best ice cream around and if you walk by around 7 or 8 on a summer night, you wouldn’t believe how long the line is. Luckily we didn’t have much of a wait at all and I got my white chocolate oreo scoop in a snap!

Around 3:30 Gavin and I met up with some of his friends from the football team along with some of their sisters/girlfriends/friends who are girls, ect. We floated on the river (I’m not sure which river it was…hmmm…) for a few hours just enjoying the sun and the cool water. There’s really no better way to spend a summer afternoon than being lazy on a river.

clarks-fork-river01All the boys had to be back for football practice at 6, so I went home to make myself dinner. Organic beef, roasted sweet potato, and peas were on the menu. I was super hungry and everything tasted great!

IMG_4055After I ate and showered, Gavin came back over and we watched “The Intouchables” on Netflix. It’s in French with subtitles so you have to pay attention, but this is an awesome movie. I was laughing SO hard at some parts and crying at others. Watch it!!

The-Intouchables-French-Movie-PosterThe fun continued today when I took the girls to the library and met them for lunch at the Tamarack with their mom, Jill. I had a salmon caesar without croutons and left happy.

lThe rest of the day has been spent doing homework, lounging around, and waiting for it to cool off a little so I can go on a walk. I wanted to share a little recipe I accidentally came up with for dinner tonight, though.

I had french toast with my gluten-free bread and was going to top it with strawberries and some marionberry syrup. Well, I over microwaved the strawberries and they got mushy and runny, so I just mixed two tablespoons of syrup right in!

IMG_4060The result was a decadent topping for my french toast. Um, yum! Just microwave 1/2 cup of frozen strawberries for 2 minutes, then stir in any fruit syrup of your choice. Pour over two slices of french toast and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Decadent French Toast Topper

  1. I can’t believe they translated Intouchables! I just love that movie… It is funny and sad at the same time. I think I watched it at least 5 or 6 times already! 🙂

  2. Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and in accession capital to assert that I get actually loved account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I success you get right of entry to consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

