The Elimination Diet

I just had my second appointment with my acupuncturist and am very pleased with the progress I’m making! Last night I walked two miles pretty quickly and it felt good to engage my leg muscles again.

To flush out the extra inflammation in my abdominal region, my acupuncturist suggested I do the elimination diet. Sounds scary right? It kind of is!

scared-face-oElimination diet rules and guidelines:

Foods included:

Fruit: blueberries and pears

Grain: rice

Meats: chicken, turkey, and lamb

Veggies: any except eggplant, tomato, potato, peppers

Spices: salt, herbs, olive oil

Beverages: water, herbal tea

Avoid: sugar, caffeine, alcohol, additives, wheat, dairy, soy, corn, eggs 

tumblr_mj81ysitmS1ql5yr7o1_400Steps:

-For two weeks include the above foods only.

-On day 15 introduce 1 of your avoided foods. Eat that food for 1/2 day and then return to the normal elimination diet for 3 days. If no symptoms occur, you can incorporate that food back into your diet.

-On Day 19 introduce a new food and repeat these steps, continuing until you’ve hopefully found your triggers.

*********

I’m a little uneasy about this. My first concern is that I won’t be able to get enough calories in a day if all I can eat are these limited foods. I guess I could have a bowl of pears and blueberries for breakfast, turkey and lettuce wraps for lunch, and chicken and rice with veggies for dinner…but that’s all very low calorie. Getting too thin won’t help anything!

Also, the social aspect of it. I guess if I go out to eat I can just order a bowl of chicken and rice. Or a salad without dressing.

I think I’m going to do it for two weeks to see if I notice a change, and if not I’ll stick with my normal diet. I just spent 50 dollars on groceries so I’ll finish those up before I start. Wish me luck!!

tumblr_m96mmiKn4z1ql5yr7o1_500

Leave a Reply

